50 Shades of Grey

50 shade of grey was one of the most anticipated movie of 2015, so when Valentine’s day arrived me and my friend decided we would watch the movie. I can honestly say that I was disappointed with the movie. This could have been due to the fact that I had not read the book prior to me watching the movie. I would  rate the movie a 5/10.

IMG_6800To begin with I did not think that the movie needed to be two hours long. There were scenes in the movie that was not really needed. The first scene that comes to mind would be the Rita Ora scene, Rita Ora character was only there for a few seconds that you could not fully recognise her, nor could you understand her either. The scene seemed pretty pointless and did not really relate with the plot.

Another pointless scene would be when Anna went home to visit her mum and Christian came to speak to her seeing as she would not return his phone call. It just did not feel like it was needed. The other scene alone would have probably been enough. Another thing that I was disappointed was the lack of BDSM that was shown in the movie. Now I’m not saying that I wanted to have seen the BDSM, but maybe if it was implied it would have been better. Christian seemed more controlling than anything, and the only time we saw the act of BDSM was right at the end, when Anna leaves him. I can honestly say that the ending annoyed me, and was even more annoyed when I heard there was going to be a second movie. I do not think I will be watching the second movie.

One of the few things that I did like would have to be that the sex scenes was not fully explicit. We were only shown one sex scene which was great. Over all the storyline was great. Just a really long movie as me and my friend ended up finding ways to fall asleep. However I asked my other friend who watched the movie who thought that it was ok and was pretty much like the book if you have read it.

To end with I think I had way too much expectations which left me disappointed.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

